Think Higher Consultants

What is a ANMAC Skill Assessment?

ANMAC, or the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council, is responsible for assessing the skills and qualifications of nurses and midwives who are looking to work in Australia. The ANMAC skill assessment process involves evaluating the educational and professional credentials of the applicant to ensure that they meet the standards set by the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA). The assessment process takes into consideration a variety of factors, including the applicant’s educational background, work experience, and language proficiency. ANMAC provides a detailed report outlining the results of the assessment, which can be used to support a visa application or registration with AHPRA. ANMAC skill assessments are an essential step for international nurses and midwives looking to work in Australia. The assessment process ensures that applicants have the necessary qualifications and skills to work as a nurse or midwife in Australia. Additionally, the ANMAC skill assessment report can be used to support an application for skilled migration to Australia or registration with AHPRA. ANMAC provides a clear and transparent process that allows applicants to understand the requirements for working in Australia and how they can meet those requirements. Overall, the ANMAC skill assessment process plays a critical role in ensuring the safety and quality of healthcare in Australia by ensuring that all nurses and midwives meet the necessary standards for practice.

Types of ANMAC Skill Assessment

Modified Skills Assessment:

The Modified Skills Assessment is a thorough evaluation of an applicant’s nursing or midwifery qualifications and experience. It is tailored for those who have completed their education in a country outside of Australia and are seeking registration to practice in Australia. This assessment takes into consideration the applicant’s education, experience, and relevant qualifications to determine their eligibility for registration.

Modified Plus Skills Assessment:

The Modified Plus Skills Assessment is an enhanced version of the Modified Skills Assessment. It is designed for applicants who possess both nursing or midwifery qualifications and significant work experience, which may compensate for any gaps in their educational background. This assessment considers a broader scope of an applicant’s experience and skills, considering additional factors beyond just formal education.

Full Skills Assessment:

 The Full Skills Assessment is a comprehensive evaluation of an applicant’s nursing or midwifery qualifications, experience, and skills. It is intended for those who do not meet the criteria for the Modified assessments or for applicants with complex qualifications and experience. This assessment thoroughly reviews an applicant’s education, professional practice, and other relevant details to determine their eligibility for registration as a nurse or midwife in Australia.

Occupations Involved

Eligibility Criteria

Hold Current registration as a Nurse or Midwife in Australia or New Zealand to be able to apply for the Modified skills assessment.
Must have Nursing Qualification.
Hold Current “Notice of in-principle approval of registration subject to proof of identity” from the Australian health practitioner regulation Agency (AHPRA).
Must have Nursing Qualification.
Enrolled Nurse – Not qualified for this.
Hold current registration in a country other than Australia or New-Zeeland.
Must have Nursing Qualification.
Enrolled Nurse – Not qualified for this.

Documents Checklist

Passport-style photo.
Change of name document.
Graduation Certificate of Nursing qualification.
Transcripts of Nursing Qualifications.
Registration Certificate.
A professional reference that meets ANMAC criteria.
Agent Declaration signed by applicant and Agent.
ANMAC will not accept Experience gained before the Registration Date with the Nursing Body.
verification of registration/‘certificate of good standing will also need to be provided if submitting a professional reference.
Colored Copy of the original documents with 600Dpi.
Cam scanners or Certified copies are not acceptable.
A letter from APHRA is also required for Modified Plus Skills Assessment.

Types of Skilled Assessment Visas